headstart. Yukon Arctic Ultra

headstart logo

headstart. Yukon Arctic Ultra

The facts:

Stone started with: Body Mass: 72 kg Fat Mass: 12.1 (16.8%) Fat Free Mass: 59.9 kg (83.2%)

Stone finished the race with Body Mass: 69.0 kg Fat Mass: 8.4 kg (12.2%) Fat Free Mass: 60.6 kg (87.8%)

On closer inspection, you can see that Stone has built up a Fat Free Mass build-up of 4.6% (relative 1.7%) after this constant load of a good 11 days without regeneration  !

Stone has about 3 liters of headstart as a basic food. and 8 headstart. Bars  consumed daily.

Up to minus 40 degrees, strong wind, deep snow, lack of sleep: none of that stopped Manfred “Stone” Steiner from walking 700 kilometers through Canada in 10 days. He started at the “Yukon Arctic Ultra”, the toughest and coldest ultra marathon in the world. “I’ve run a lot of races, but that was definitely my toughest. Now I’ve had the experience, but once is enough, ”says the 48 year old. “There were four categories in the run: over the marathon distance (42.2 km, note), over 100, 300 and 430 miles (700 km, note). 24 participants tried the longest distance, twelve had to give up prematurely, ”says Steiner.

Inhuman conditions

“I had 13 days to cover the 700 kilometers across Canada. My pulka (the sled he pulled) was packed with clothes, food and the tent and weighed almost 30 kilos. Sometimes it was minus 40 degrees, the snow was deep. One could hardly prepare for such conditions.” Right at the beginning of the race, the deputy operations manager of Hörsching Airport even thought about giving up. “It was really hard, and I was about to end it all. Then I thought about what to do with the remaining time, I booked three weeks in Canada. At some point you get over it and then you move on,” says Steiner.

Every runner was equipped with a GPS device. The organizers were able to locate the runners at any time, and the athletes could also use the device to send emergency calls. “If you’re lucky, you’ll be picked up within a few hours. But it can also happen that a snow storm is raging. Then the waiting time can be two days. That’s why every runner had a food ration with them for 48 hours, ”explains the 48-year-old.

“Broke into ice water”

Twelve runners finished, Steiner finished seventh. He was on the road for ten days, 18 hours and 53 minutes. “Time and placement don’t matter. A race like this is all about getting through and surviving. Once I broke into the ice-cold water, the second time I was met by a huge gush of ice water from above, I jumped sideways into the deep snow, but I also didn’t know what was under the snow. Even now, a week after the race, I’m still not quite fit. I don’t sleep regularly, I wake up at night and think I’m still in Canada.”

90 kilometers through South Africa

The highlight this year in South Africa will be the Comrades Marathon. “It’s the oldest ultra marathon in the world and it’s a 90-mile run from Durban to Pietermaritzburg.” The start alternates annually between Durban and Pietermaritzburg. The towns are at different altitudes, so one year you run downhill, the next year uphill. Last year Steiner already took part: “Only when you have completed both races are you a complete ultra-marathon runner”.

For the sake of form, we can state that this study was not carried out on our behalf. Stone made himself available as a test subject for this study, which was carried out by a renowned German institute.

Share article:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The product family

Instant Drink

To-go

headstart. Instant drink

Product image

The classic

headstart. Energy can

Product image

For snacking

headstart. Bars

Share article:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The product family

Instant Drink

To-go

headstart. Instant drink

Product image

For snacking

headstart. Bars

Product image

The classic

headstart. Energy can

Don't stop reading

Find out more

Stress picture

headstart. helps reduce stress

Numerous experimental studies have shown that regular carbohydrate intake during prolonged exercise ensures that performance is maintained and extends the duration of exercise.

headstart increases mental performance

Extract from the scientific study:  “The effect of the performance-enhancing  soft drink “headstart” on mental and physical performance”  Dr V. Höltke, Dr M. Steuer, Dr

Product image

Scientific study

Extract from the scientific study:  Dr V. Höltke, Dr M. Steuer, Dr E. Jacob A great many experiments have demonstrated that regular carbohydrate (CH) intake

X
Shopping cart close

headstart. Yukon Arctic Ultra

headstart Logo

headstart. Yukon Arctic Ultra

Die Fakten:

Stone startete mit:
Body Mass ( Körpergewicht ): 72 kg
Fat Mass: 12.1 (16.8%)
Fat Free Mass: 59.9 kg (83.2%)

Stone beendete das Rennen mit
Body Mass ( Körpergewicht ): 69.0 kg
Fat Mass: 8.4 kg (12.2%)
Fat Free Mass: 60.6 kg (87.8%)

Bei genauer Betrachtung stellt man fest, dass Stone nach dieser Dauerbelastung von gut 11 Tagen ohne Regeneration einen Fat Free Mass Aufbau von 4,6 % (relativierte 1,7 % ) aufgebaut hat !

Stone hat als Basisnahrung ca. 3 Liter headstart. und 8 headstart. Riegel  täglich zu sich genommen.

Bis zu minus 40 Grad, heftiger Wind, tiefer Schnee, Schlafmangel: Das alles hielt Manfred „Stone“ Steiner nicht ab, in 10 Tagen 700 Kilometer durch Kanada zu laufen. Er startete beim „Yukon Arctic Ultra“, dem härtesten und kältesten Ultra- Marathon der Welt. „Ich bin schon viele Rennen gelaufen, aber das war mit Sicherheit mein härtestes. Jetzt habe ich die Erfahrung gemacht, aber einmal reicht“, sagt der 48-Jährige. „Bei dem Lauf gab es vier Kategorien: Über die Marathondistanz (42,2 km, Anm.), über 100, 300 und 430 Meilen (700 km, Anm.). 24 Teilnehmer haben sich an der längsten Distanz versucht, zwölf mussten vorzeitig aufgeben“, erzählt Steiner.

Unmenschliche Bedingungen

„Ich hatte 13 Tage Zeit, die 700 Kilometer quer durch Kanada zu bewältigen. Meine Pulka (der von ihm gezogene Schlitten, Anm.) war vollgepackt mit Kleidung, Nahrung und dem Zelt und knapp 30 Kilo schwer. Teilweise hatte es minus 40 Grad, der Schnee war tief. Auf solche Bedingungen konnte man sich kaum vorbereiten.“ Gleich zu Beginn des Rennens dachte der stellvertretende Betriebsleiter des Flughafens Hörsching sogar ans Aufgeben. „Es war wirklich hart, und ich war kurz davor, alles zu beenden. Dann habe ich mir gedacht, was ich mit der restlichen Zeit mache, ich habe ja drei Wochen in Kanada gebucht. Irgendwann überwindet man sich, und dann geht es weiter“, sagt Steiner.

Jeder Läufer war mit GPS-Gerät ausgestattet. So konnten die Veranstalter die Läufer jederzeit orten, die Athleten konnten mit dem Gerät auch Notrufe senden. „Mit Glück wird man innerhalb von ein paar Stunden abgeholt. Es kann aber auch vorkommen, dass ein Schneesturm tobt. Dann kann die Wartezeit auch zwei Tage betragen. Darum hatte jeder Läufer eine Essensration für 48 Stunden dabei“, erklärt der 48-Jährige.

„In Eiswasser eingebrochen“

Zwölf Läufer kamen ins Ziel, Steiner wurde Siebter. Er war zehn Tage, 18 Stunden und 53 Minuten unterwegs. „Zeit und Platzierung sind egal. Bei so einem Rennen geht es nur ums Durchkommen und ums Überleben. Einmal bin ich im eiskalten Wasser eingebrochen, beim zweiten Mal ist mir ein riesiger Eiswasserschwall von oben entgegengekommen, ich bin seitlich in den Tiefschnee gesprungen, habe aber auch nicht gewusst, was unter dem Schnee ist. Selbst jetzt, eine Woche nach dem Rennen, bin ich noch immer nicht ganz fit. Ich schlafe nicht regelmäßig, wache in der Nacht auf und glaube, dass ich noch in Kanada bin.“

90 Kilometer durch Südafrika

Der Höhepunkt wird heuer in Südafrika der Comrades Marathon sein. „Das ist der älteste Ultra-Marathon der Welt und geht über 90 Kilometer von Durban nach Pietermaritzburg.“ Der Start wechselt jährlich zwischen Durban und Pietermaritzburg. Die Orte liegen unterschiedlich hoch, deswegen läuft man einmal eher bergab, im nächsten Jahr bergauf. Im Vorjahr war Steiner bereits dabei: „Erst wenn man beide Rennen geschafft hat, ist man ein kompletter Ultra-Marathonläufer“.

Der Form halber dürfen wir anführen, dass diese Studie nicht in unserem Auftrag durchgeführt wurde. Stone hat sich zufällig als Proband für diese Studie, die von einem renommierten Deutschen Institut durchgeführt wurde, zur Verfügung gestellt.

Beitrag teilen:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Die Produktfamilie

Instant Getränk

Zum Mitnehmen

headstart. Instant Drink

Produktfoto

Der Klassiker

headstart. Energie Dose

Produktfoto

Zum Anbeißen

headstart. Riegel

Beitrag teilen:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Die Produktfamilie

Instant Getränk

Zum Mitnehmen

headstart. Instant Drink

Produktfoto

Zum Anbeißen

headstart. Riegel

Produktfoto

Der Klassiker

headstart. Energie Dose

Hör nicht auf zu lesen

Mehr erfahren

Bild von Jürgen Strittl

„Das Gehirn hat keinen Energiespeicher“

Ein Artikel von Phoenix Arzneiwaren Präzision steht beim Olympischen Sportschießen im Fokus. Wer die Konzentration verliert, schießt daneben. Wie kann man Sportschützen helfen, über Stunden

Produktfoto

Wissenschaftliche Studie

Auszug aus der wissenschaftlichen Studie:   Dr. V. Höltke, Dr. M. Steuer, Dr. E. Jakob In zahlreichen experimentellen Arbeiten wurde nachgewiesen, dass die regelmäßige Kohlenhydrat-Aufnahme (KH)

headstart steigert die mentale Leistungsfähigkeit

Auszug aus der wissenschaftlichen Studie: „Die Wirkung des leistungssteigernden Erfrischungsgetränkes  “headstart“ auf die psychische und physische Leistungsfähigkeit“  Dr. V. Höltke, Dr. M. Steuer, Dr. E.

X
Warenkorb Weiter einkaufen